Puerto de la Cruz is the pioneer town of tourism within the Canary Islands, showing till today witnesses of its past and keeping a particular personality, different of modern touristic resorts.

Beginning of 16th century there was only a small settlement at the beach, dedicated to fishing and coastal shipping, part of the municipality of La Orotava, to which it belonged till 1772 and only in the year 1808 it got independent, changing its name to Puerto de la Cruz.
Following the destruction of Garachico due to a volcanic eruption in 1706 Puerto de La Orotava as it was called then, developed into the island’s most important, loading ships designated mainly to British harbors.
Tourism developed first with stays of natural scientists like Christen Smith (1815), Philip B. Webb (1828 a 1830), Sabino Berthelot, who published the “Historia natural de Canarias” (natural history of the Canary Islands) and who also was director of the botanical gardens, Alexander von Humboldt (1799) geologists like Leopold von Buch, and also artists like Elizabeth Murray, Marianne North or Agatha Christi, and even the Beatles spent a few days here in 1963. At the end of 19th century the European upper class was attracted by the goodness of the island’s climate and its beautiful nature. Hotels like el l the Marquesa (1887), the Monopol (1888) and the Grand Hotel Taoro (1890) opened their doors. Some of them still conserve their style, their exterior, their patio and their comfortable rooms. After mass-tourism started in the 50th of last century many new, modern hotels have been built. Especially to mention the hotel Botánico, with its large gardens and its excellent offer of services guests like the King of Spain, US president Clinton and other important personalities have enjoyed their stay here.
The historical center is located along the Quintana Street, where are the hotels Marquesa and Monopol, the Instituto de Estudios Hispánicos (school) and the town’s main church of “Nuestra Señora de la Peña de Francia”.
All these buildings are grouped around a nice park that invites to have a rest, to relax and observe the local people going by. And maybe you even dream of times long past.
Crossing the busy square Plaza de Charco the way leads to one of the most popular and traditional parts of Puerto de la Cruz: La Ranilla, where in the San Felipe Street the archeological museum is located in a house itself of great historical value. Founded originally in 1953, it closed doors in 1958. Since the 29th of May 1991 however it took heritage of the Archeological Salon and houses its fundus. Among its more than 2600 objects presented here the collection of ceramics is remarkable. The museum forms today one of the town’s most important cultural dotation. Apart of the showrooms the museum also is also dedicated to educational activities and leisure.
Just a step away, within the same Street a local restaurant offers typical Canary meals in a very nice atmosphere
If visitors wish, a stay might be arranged to enjoy a lunch (optional).
The small and simple chapel of San Telmo, patron saint of sailors, is situated right above the coast.
And finally: Puerto translates harbor