Apt for people with reduced mobility

Founded on 27ᵗʰ of July 1496 as the Canary Island’s capital, a title kept till 1803, still today lives the quiet atmosphere of past centuries with its numerous palaces, convents, monasteries, churches and wide squares.

  • Sightseeing (2 hours)
The “Adelantado”-square, named in honour of the island’s conqueror, housed the market, bull-fights, local festivities and the inquisition. The palace of Alonso Fernández de Lugo was situated at same place where in 1611 the convent Santa Catalina was constructed, nowadays surrounded by the town hall and the house of the Nava and Grimón family. Furthermore there is the birthplace of Father Anchieta, a issioner and founder of the town of in Brazil and a small chapel dedicated to Saint Michael, patron saint of the conqueror.
The street of bishop Rey Redondo, better known as La Carrera, along there are impressive houses of the rich families that ruled commerce and economy as well as the military headquarters in XVIII. century and also the cathedral.
Constitution square, formerly the square of the well, formed center Of the first settlement back in 1496. The random construction of primitive huts did not please the conqueror who therefore ordered to organize the town with a chessboard like street plan, which then was reason in 1999 to UNESCO to declare San Cristóbal de Laguna a World Heritage.
In 1742 the convent of San Agustín was first seat of the university Today the hermitage houses the Cabrera Pinto Institute and is a space of a variety of art exhibitions.
One of the best kept courts is the one in the house of the Montañez family. Today it’s rooms are used by the Canaries government court of conciliation.
At the beginning of the street of the water, named as it led alongside a former creek the palace of the family Nava and Grimón is situated, where in 18ᵗʰ century the “tertullias” met, meetings to discuss economy and politics and important participants such as the brothers Iriarte and Viera y Clavijo, a historian.